REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask

Another ridiculous name in attempt to make a product sound fancy and scientific. I’m onto you, skincare companies. This mask retails at £32.00 for 50ml on the REN website, and the description states:

“A blend of Glycolic, Lactic, Citric and Tartaric Acids, sourced from extracts of Pineapple, Passion Fruit, Lemon and Grape, work with Papain from Mexican Papaya to deeply exfoliate, decongest and purify the skin thereby smoothing skin texture and reducing the appearance of fine lines. Omega 3 and 7 nourish, soothe and repair the skin to ensure skin remains calm and soothed.”

Application

This stuff is bright yellow! And really slimy. Unpleasantly slimy. I put it on and immediately wanted to wipe the yellow mucus that was now covering my face. But I resisted and gave it the ten minutes it advises.

The Drying

I don’t know if this mask is supposed to dry, but it didn’t. It continued to feel like I had been the victim of the Ghostbusters’ slime for the entire ten minutes.

Removal

Thank God this was fairly easy to remove. A gentle wipe with a hot damp flannel did the trick. It feels like it should have dried and been a peel-off mask, but it’s not (I checked).

Aftermath

Immediately afterwards I didn’t notice any difference. It seems like all that repulsion at my own face was for nothing. I went and made myself a consolatory cup of tea. However, after a couple of minutes, my skin started to feel really tight and fresh. I looked in the mirror and the slime attack had miraculously evened my blotchy skin tone!

Overall

Okay, so if you can get past the weird grass/medicinal smell and the disgusting slimy texture, this is actually a really great mask. I wouldn’t use it more than once a week because I can see that it might dry your skin out if you overuse it, but my skin looks and feels really great. The blend of acids (that sounds terrifying) helps to get rid of any dead skin and leaves your skin feeling incredibly soft. It also did wonders for the pores on my nose, and after just one use I can totally see a difference. At £32.00, this mask is extremely expensive, however I would be more inclined to spend the money on this than on the Glam Glow Youthmud mask

Leave a comment